NC State Announces NC GlaxoSmithKline Foundation Scholarship Recipients

NC GlaxoSmithKline Foundation Scholarship Recipients

NC State University’s Community College Collaboration (C3) program and the North Carolina GlaxoSmithKline Foundation have partnered to make a four-year degree more accessible and affordable for transfer students.  With a $600,000 grant, the NC GlaxoSmithKline Foundation will provide scholarship support to more than two dozen C3 students at NC State.  These renewable scholarships are awarded to students with financial need and valued at $5000 per year. 

According to C3 Director Martha Harmening, NC State developed C3 to increase access to an NC State education for North Carolina residents. The program is for students from low-to-moderate income backgrounds or rural communities who may have thought an NC State degree is beyond their reach. “What sets C3 apart is the level of direct support that we provide to students while still enrolled in the community college. Our goals are to ease a student’s transition from their community college to NC State, support their success at NC State, and ultimately ensure timely completion of their NC State degree.”

A total grant of $1,064,000 from the NC GlaxoSmithKline Foundation funds a variety of resources for C3 students beyond the financial support the scholarship offers: paid research opportunities to gain real-world experience, individualized academic advising, career exploration tools, and more.

About the C3 Program at NC State University

The Community College Collaboration (C3) is a dual-admission program between NC State and ten community college partners. Students receive advising and support throughout the transfer admission process, ensuring courses they are enrolled in will transfer seamlessly to their degree program. C3 continues to lend a hand after students transfer, easing the transition to the state’s largest University. Through C3, NC State is committed to providing affordable pathways to a four-year degree by supporting students both before and after transfer from the community colleges. Visit us at   

About the North Carolina GlaxoSmithKline Foundation

The North Carolina GlaxoSmithKline Foundation is an independent self-funding 501(c)3 nonprofit organization supporting activities that help meet the educational and health needs of today’s society and future generations. Since its creation in 1986, the foundation has granted $78 million to support North Carolina projects and programs that emphasize the understanding and application of science, health and education at all academic and professional levels. Visit us at

Scholarship recipients

Name Community College Hometown Major
Marilexia Faith Acelajado Wake Technical Community College Raleigh Computer Science
Andres Aguilar-Alvarez Wake Technical Community College Raleigh Civil Engineering
Malack Awawda Wake Technical Community College Dunn Microbiology
Lauren Bennett Nash Community College Wilson Crop and Soil Science
Allan Berduo Morales Alamance Community College Burlington Sustainable Materials & Technology
Ethan Cole Vance-Granville Community College Kittrell Mechanical Engineering
Haley Evans Johnston Community College Selma Mechanical Engineering
Benjamin Falero Central Carolina Community College Fuquay Varina Computer Engineering
Abner Galeano Central Carolina Community College Broadway Civil Engineering
Pratham Ghelani Wake Technical Community College Apex Mechanical Engineering
Nathan Glenn Durham Technical Community College Durham Mechanical Engineering
Cesar Hernandez Parra Alamance Community College Burlington Civil Engineering
J’ya Hunter Wake Technical Community College Fuquay Varina Polymer and Color Chemistry
Nicole Kida Central Carolina Community College Lillington Biological Sciences
Samuel Korvie Durham Technical Community College Durham Electrical Engineering
Sabrina Kulp Alamance Community College Mebane Fisheries, Wildlife, & Conservation Biology
Younes Labsh Abazid Wake Technical Community College Raleigh Biological Sciences
Ethan Loeffelholz Johnston Community College Clayton Biomedical & Health Sciences Engineering
Brenda Lozano Durham Technical Community College Hillsborough Horticultural Science
Nidia McBride Vance-Granville Community College Garner Animal Science
Jason Michaels Nash Community College Nashville Civil Engineering
Daniel Olson Alamance Community College Mebane Biochemistry
Alexis Otway Durham Technical Community College Mebane Animal Science
Noah Page Central Carolina Community College Sanford Computer Science
David Rios Herrera Alamance Community College Burlington Paper Science & Engineering
Thomas Selem Central Carolina Community College Sanford Computer Science
Rafael Stanziola Clark Wake Technical Community College Apex Industrial Engineering
Wyatt Tormey Durham Technical Community College Cary Aerospace Engineering
Heather Warnick Wake Technical Community College Raleigh Elementary Education



For further information:
Martha Harmening, Director, C3 Program